Best movies of 2014

Allright, before I list the best movies from 2014, I would like to announce the worst movies I saw this year. I meant to do it in a different blog post, but WordPress crashed and it was deleted. Didn’t want to redo it, so here are the worst I saw this year:

So now, here are the best movies I saw that were released this year:

LEGO Movie

LEGO Movie

This was a work of art. Awesome story, with surprising twists, but with an unfortunately annoying song that gets stuck in your head everytime you hear. But, I can overlook that one song they played the entire time for how fun the film is. While it is the traditional animated movie with the message that you are worth something, they do it in a new way, in way different story than normal. If for some reason you haven’t seen it yet, I would encourage it. It’s not just a kid’s film, it’s got some humor for the kids, but then has the jokes for the older people in the audience. It’s a wonderful film, I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

The next one is “How to Train Your Dragon 2,” but you can read that review on this blog post.

When the Game Stands TallWhen the Game Stands Tall

This film I also loved. I just saw it last Friday, and personally, it was worth the wait until it came out on Redbox (that’s pretty much how I see all the new films). It’s the story of a high school football team who won 151 games straight, and then things started going bad. One of the departing seniors gets shot to death, the coach nearly dies, and they lose. But, the story isn’t about them losing and how they started winning again, it’s about their attitude, and their faith in God. It is a Christian film, but one that doesn’t scream “This is a Christian film!” It’s a great movie, I highly recommend it. I also give this 5 out of 5 stars.

Moms Night Out

Mom’s Night Out

This one I saw the Friday before Mother’s Day, a.k.a Opening Day. The reason I went to the theaters to see it was because I brought my mom (along with dad and sisters) to see it as a Mothers Day present. We all loved it. It’s funny, for my mom it was moving, and touching. All of us had something we liked in it. Jokes about biker gangs, grown men playing video games like juveniles, men using Pinterest, and tazers grace this film. It’s wonderful. Once again, I’m giving it 5 out of 5 stars.

Mr Peabody and ShermanMr. Peabody and Sherman

This is my favorite of all the films on this list. Targeted more for those who grew up with the cartoon (I didn’t), it is still a film the entire family will enjoy. It’s has the crude humor the children will laugh at, and it has the jokes only the older ones in the audience will laugh at (“I’m walking here!” and Bill Clinton saying “I’ve done worse!”). Oh, and don’t worry, Mr. Peabody’s puns that are so lame they’re funny are back (You can’t eat your cake and “edict” too). It’s a great film, and one of the best I’ve seen. I bought it on DVD a few months ago, and I’ve watched it quite a few times since, I love it even more every time I see it. I give it 5 stars out of 5.

Later today, Best movies I saw this year. Tomorrow, worst liberal news blogs.

2 thoughts on “Best movies of 2014

Leave a comment