Why I oppose executing Scott Panetti

Originally published on Biblical Worldview Daily:

So Texas is going to execute Scott Panetti tomorrow (Wednesday) at 7 p.m. EST. This man is a delusional killer. He has some serious mental problems, but Texas will kill him anyway. Most people are angry he will be killed because they say it is morally wrong. Heck, I say different, if you kill someone, it shouldn’t matter whether you are sane or insane, you need to go. But, instead, I’m not supporting his execution. I’m not opposing it because it’s “morally wrong,” no, because I think this sets a dangerous precedent. Just think, someday, when it is morally acceptable to execute someone that is insane, do you think executions will be limited to “because you murdered someone?” No, I am thinking “Atheists already see Christians as insane, so won’t they use that on Christians?” I don’t see how it is out of the question. Or, even if not Atheists, if ISIS takes over America, they can use that to say “hey, Americans have no problem with it, let’s execute those mentally insane Christians.” It could happen. So, that’s why I don’t support executing Scott Panetti.

Leave a comment